Eastern Oregon Regional High School Art Exhibition Award Winners and Participating Schools

The Eastern Oregon Regional High School Art Exhibition featuring over 300 works by students from 15 regional high schools opened Friday, February 24. Regina Braker, Interim Dean of EOU’s College of Arts & Sciences welcomed gallery visitors with opening remarks and awards were presented by Nightingale Gallery Director Cory Peeke. The Nightingale Gallery would like to congratulate the following award winners from the 2017 exhibition and give special recognition to the teachers who make it all possible.

The EOU Art program presented awards to exemplary work by students in grades 9-12. All Best of Show winners received an award certificate, a $50 Barnes & Noble gift card, a sketchbook as well as an EOU t-shirt and lanyard. Honorable Mention recipients received a certificate of award.

Best of Show 12th Grade:

Jenna Monson (Union High) for her painting “Eden’s Waterfalls”

Best of Show 11th Grade:

Elizabeth Cashell (La Grande High) for her paintings “Glass Ceiling” and “Broken Glass”

Best of Show 10th Grade:

Justin Smith (North Powder High) for his drawing “David”

Best of Show 9th Grade,:

Zac Johnston (Union High) for his painting “Blur Bunny”

Honorable Mentions:

Baker City

Luke Barnes, 10th grade, for his ceramic piece “Bamboo and Blood”

Erin Blincoe, 12th grade, for her ceramic sculpture “See No Evil”

Maggie Crabill, 12th grade, for her painting “Skull Buddies”

Kerrie Kast, 9th grade for her mixed media piece “Insanity”

Douglas Nichols, 12th grade, for his ceramic piece “Alloy Amalgamation”


Ethan Hobson, 11th grade, for his sculpture “Metal Willow”

Grant Union

Anastasiya Hozhenko, 10th grade, for her drawing “The Glass Red Pepper”


Kai Oliver, 12th grade, for his ceramic piece “Hardship”

La Grande

Owen Kreutz, 10th grade, for his drawing “Lord of the Rings, Aragon”

North Powder

Casey Neske, 12th grade, for her “Batik Mask”

Rylee Richman, 10th grade, for her drawing “W.S.”

Peyton Secl, 10th grade, for her painting “Our Kiss”


Johnny Malcom, 12th grade, for his drawing “Chance”


Kylie Bruce, 9th grade, for her painting “In the Door”

Emilee Freeman, 9th grade, for her painting “The Stache with Class”

Rosalyn Morton, 10th grade, for her untitled print

Matthew Sheehy, 10th grade, for his untitled painting

Mrs. Gustavson’s entire class who made the giant cardboard masks

Giving a special award for the ninth year in a row, the La Grande Arts Commission’s “La Grande High School Creative Artist of 2017” was presented to Emily Andrews. Andrews’ painting “Inspired by Jove Wang’s ‘Dreaming Santa Barbara Harbor’” was selected by local artist and La Grande Arts Commissioner Jeremy Clark who along with Commission Chairperson Evna Stacey presented the award to Andrews. The award comes with a certificate and check for $100.

Joining the La Grande Arts Commission in presenting special awards are three regional art centers. Union County’s Art Center East presented a $50 “Union County’s Best Young Artist” award to Zac Johnston of Union High for his works “Bunny Mask” and “Blur Bunny.” Baker County’s Crossroads Art Center awarded two $50 awards. Their “Baker High School Aspiring Young Artist” award went to Alexa Nickens for her ceramic work “Fierce Deity” and Crossroads’ “Baker County Aspiring Young Artist” award went to Jin Sue Kim of Burnt River High School for her graphite drawing “Andrew Garfield.” Pendleton Center for the Arts in conjunction with Pendleton Art & Frame, Art & Antiques on Main and the Blue Mountain Community College Foundation presented a $200 “Best of the Blues” award to Johnny Malcom of Pendleton High for his drawing “Chance.”

Art Center East’s award was selected by writer, cultural advocate and ACE Resource Coordinator Kelly McGilvrey, the award was presented by Art Center East board member and EOU professor of History Rebecca Hartman. Crossroads Art Center’s award winners were selected and presented by artist and EOU Professor Emeritus Tom Dimond. Pendleton Center for the Arts award was selected by artist and PCA’s Coordinator of Education and Outreach Bonnie Day and presented by Cory Peeke.

You can check out the winning artists’ works on our Instagram and Facebook feeds.

“On behalf of EOU and the Nightingale Gallery I would like to congratulate the winners and all the student participants,” said Cory Peeke, Nightingale Gallery Director “and I would also like to congratulate the art teachers who on a daily basis go out of their way to help students create works of such a high caliber.” The following is a list of those area teachers.

Baker City High School-Kristen Anderson

Burns High School- Ben Holtby

Burnt River High School- Laurie Hueckman

Cove High School-Eric Gustavson

Crane Union High School-Connie Robbins

Echo High School-Rick Thew

Enterprise High School-Dianne Pfel

Grant Union High School-J.J. Collier

Joseph Charter School- Jennifer Hawkins-Connolly

La Grande High School-Mike Schireman

North Powder High School- Jessie Street

Pendleton High School- Olivia Rush

Prairie City High School-Amelia Harmon

Union County Youth Creative Arts-Theo Miller

Union High School-Jaime Gustavson

Vale High School- Kacie Shaffer

The 2017 Eastern Oregon Regional High School Exhibition runs through March 21. The Nightingale Gallery is located in Loso Hall on the campus of Eastern Oregon University in La Grande, OR. Gallery hours are Monday-Friday 11AM-4PM.

To request images of artwork for publication please contact Gallery Director Cory Peeke at cpeeke@eou.edu


Echo School District

600 Gerone | Echo, Oregon 97826

Phone: 541.376.8436 | Fax: 541.376.8473

Content Copyright © 2005-2017

Echo School District 5-R is an equal opportunity educator and employer.